Hot and heat in UAE

Living in the Middle East for almost half of my life, I still struggle with the heat each day and how hot it gets each day here during summer. It showed 49 and 50 degrees celsius on my car thermometer the other day, phew!

hot-sun-picRecently, I saw a video of a man cooking an egg on a pavement. I don’t know where it originated from but as I was watching it I knew I was the egg in that video, no kidding.Β I placed a chocolate bar in my bag last week and by the time I reached home, the chocolate bar was not a bar anymore but a hot soup. Had to rush it to the fridge and also for me, to grab an ice cold drink.

One of the stories I wrote this week was informing people that this heat will not go anytime soon as it still has one more month to go. July and August are the hottest months in the country based on historical records from the weather bureau here.

pocarisweat

Preventing from getting dehydrated, I followed my dad’s instruction to drink Pocari Sweat everyday or every other day. I have a long history of getting dehydrated easily and yet I decided to stay in the Middle East where it is almost hot all year round. Water is not enough. I drink a lot each day and I literally felt like the sun sucking out the water out of me even if it was just a few meters walk from my car to the office or to the venue.

Wish me luck for another hot month of August! I hope the heat sucks out my fats out rather than the water from my body. Don’t forget to drink up this summer everyone! Stay hydrated. #wheninUAE #UAEsummer

Leave a Reply

