Get active

My friends at the gym

My friends at the gym

I recently joined gym for the first time in my life. In the past I have been active in school. I was part of the track team and badminton team in my school. However after graduating from school, I also stopped being active. I have to admit I thought I didn’t need it as I know my body well. After joining the gym, clearly I do not know my body well. I tell my body to work out more yet it yells at me no!

In my shoes

Ready for the gym

As we get older our bodies become much harder to maintain and that is why moving is important. Any daily movement is useful as long as you don’t end up as a couch potato the whole day. In our generation we live in a fast paced life where we are distracted by the multiple screens that take over our lives that we forget to stop and reflect whether we have walked enough or even forget whether what we ate was right for our body.

Zooza salad from Zaatar w Zeit, my fave

Zooza salad from Zaatar w Zeit, my fave

I have learned that whatever we eat should be useful to us. If we eat more, we should do more movements. I am not going to say exercise as even as simple as walking is already an exercise. Cleaning the house, doing the laundry also involves multiple movements. Therefore multiple movements is a better way of calling it.

Another favorite from Tony Romas

Another favorite from Tony Romas

We all take for granted when we used to live with our parents, our mom does everything. Come to think of it, she is better than any superhero. She cooks, cleans and goes to work. And oh yes don’t forget the PTA’s (parent teachers meetings). I grew up in an Asian family therefore doing chores was a must. It was something that kept us motivated to get the chance to watch our own tv shows. If we did not finish our homework and do our chores on time, we won’t have the chance to get hold of the remote to choose the channel. Yes, it was easier back then as there was only one screen, the TV.

Fitness First bag

Fitness First bag

Living in Dubai, time is crucial. It goes by really fast. Therefore utilizing to keep oneself busy is important. Just make sure to eat right and do daily multiple movements. If you can’t do it then join the gym like I did. The gym I joined is Fitness First. There are also other gyms in Dubai so it’s entirely up to you. If you don’t like the gym then join some Zumba or Aerobic classes. There are also a lot of marathons that take place in the country where you can sign up to get active.

Leave a Reply

