The ‘Right’ Choice

I was watching ‘Dangerous Minds‘ today. It’s an old movie, released around 1995, I think. It starred Michelle Pfeiffer. She was an ex-marine who was going through a rough divorce and needed a new job for a change. She decided to take up a job as a teacher in a public school. Her class consisted of kids who came from broken families or problematic families. I remember watching it for the first time when I was still young and I thought when I get to high school, things would be how it was shown on this movie. However, now that I am in University, I realized it isn’t always like that. I would say I was lucky enough to get into a good high school. My parents made sure I surrounded myself with the right crowd. Of course there were instances where I would get into trouble but they were petty troubles within the school only and not outside like in the movie ‘Dangerous Minds’.

I realized after watching this movie that people have this mentality of taking the easy way out for everything. For example if one would like to get money to get something, they would rob a bank or steal it, etc. However, a lot of people take it for granted that there are other possibilities to get what they wanted. This movie was a reflection of reality at that time however, if you look around you, these particular things are still happening. Why is that so? Even after portraying it in a movie, why do people still continue to do those things? Is it because they are mentally challenged? I don’t think so. I think they are just lazy.

What is the ‘right’ choice? It’s usually getting the right outcome at then end of the day, is the right choice. It’s partly right, I guess. Choosing the right path to get what you want ,and not just getting what you want but getting something unexpected at the end of the day is the right choice. I didn’t know how else to explain this but it made more sense to me now. A good example would be me getting into trouble, I solved my big problem by solving all the small problems first, one by one. Eventually, the big problem became a small problem which was good. When I was younger, I admit that I use to do things tactlessly and always do things without thinking. However I realized that I wasted time as each time I did tactless doings, I ended up being stuck or going backward rather than going forward in life.

One thought on “The ‘Right’ Choice

Leave a Reply

