Do Schools Encourage Conformity

After reading one of my friend’s post (link below), I actually decided to write down my own opinions on this topic. It’s a very wide topic to be discussed. I’m just going to write what I personally feel from my own experience. I don’t want to sound biased.

 

My whole life, I went to school in uniforms and I grew up thinking that wearing the uniform is part of going to school. It’s just how it is. However as I grew up I learned that other schools in certain countries, usually Western countries, have no school uniforms in their schools. As an early teenager, I used to get excited if my own school had a non-uniform day which happens around once in a blue moon. My friends and I would be excited as to how to dress up on that particular day. Later on as I graduated from high school, I started my College life. I even got more excited as there’s no more uniforms at all. However I realized that I miss wearing uniforms. I missed my high school life where I’d get into trouble for not wearing my own uniform properly or for not wearing it at all to school.

 

I know that dressing up allows people to get on their creative side. To some extent I agree on this, however, not always. I’m a media student and having studied in a media college for about a year now, how one dresses up doesn’t really affect one’s creativeness or personality . Of course there are many people who would dress up going to college but they do not get good grades for dressing up fashionably or sexily. It’s your own projects and assignments that gives you the grades. I don’t even bother dressing up for my classes. Usually I wear slippers, old shirt and any pants available that I can find at that very moment. Of course if there was a presentation, dress to impress is part of the grade. That’s about the only time I would usually dress up in college.

 

In high school, I feel that wearing uniforms actually helps the student’s personality grow to a much a mature level. If one doesn’t have to worry as to what to wear every single day to school, then his or her brain will be less strained. It will focus more on the academic and school activities. Peer pressure has been one very common brain straining for many teenagers. I went through it in high school and I’m still going through it in college too. Having to think what to wear to school will make certain individuals be isolated from the whole school. With school uniforms enforced in the school, I feel there’s of a less of peer pressure on this. However, bullies and academic pressure will always be present in all high schools. The differences among different schools are the disciplinarian acts carried out.

 

How about you? What do you think?

 

Do Schools Encourage Conformity by Yoan

4 thoughts on “Do Schools Encourage Conformity

  1. I’m not entirely sure where I sit on the uniform issue. Whilst I hear your arguement about peer pressure, I also feel that classrooms should mirror the challanges and realities of life. In the outside world we have to deal with looking and dressing differently to others. Within a supervised environment like the classroom teacher’s can help students overcome differences and pressures.

    Having said that, uniforms can create pride in ones school and education, be a symbol of solidarity for the class and help parents out with the washing demands.

    I’ve never heard pilots talk of conformism. They seem to love their uniform.

    • Pilots or policemen aren’t the same as high school students. Pilots & policemen wear their uniforms with pride. They hold a very big responsibility with the what they carry with them. When a students steps out of the school premises, the student carries the name of the school. When I was in Singapore, my own sister recieved an award for being courteous towards strangers. Little did she know that the people who she helped took her name and her school’s name down to get her nominated for the award nationally. There’s less of these in a non-uniform school society. Most students in non-uniform school don’t take pride of their school as they get too busy thinking what they individually should wear to school everyday. I would say it also depends on the background of the student & the community of the school.

      Different countries have different cultures. I’ve studied in different countries from Singapore, India and United Arab Emirates. Though the schools carry out the same syllabus, the execution differs which affects as to how much knowledge I was able to grasp. For me, CBSE is the toughest and the best education in the world. When I moved to UAE, I had to study IGCSE. It was very good too but not as tough compared to CBSE. I studied American curriculum for about a year for high school. I felt like I was in 3rd grade. The topics I had to learn was too easy. Well like I said it also depends on the environment of the student. There has been alot of high school drop outs nowadays or in certain countries many people didn’t go to school out of poverty. It really differs.

  2. I went to no-uniform schools from the age of 8 to 18 and it was worse: one was bullied or pressured into conforming to the fashion (trainers had to be Nike air, etc) or made to feel bad when one didn’t conform. From experience, I think there is a problem with conformism at school, but that comes more from the fact that students are not taught to engage in public debate (e.g. in the UK we have no training in logic, and no serious education about the nature of our society), and not from uniforms.

Leave a Reply

